Boards & Commissions




Listing of Board and Commission Members

Are you interested in serving on a Board or Commission?

Click Here to Learn More

Hartley Public Library Board Trustees

The Library Board meets at 9:00 a.m. on the third Thursday of every month, excluding August, at 91 First Street SE.

Board members (six-year terms)(July terms):
Jean Johnson (7/1/2020) - President
Dave Petersen (7/1/2022) - Vice President
Dave Vander Broek (7/1/2024) - Secretary/Treasurer
Kathy Wacker (7/1/2023) - Trustee
Dee Kolpin (7/1/2022) - Trustee

The library is directed by Heather Grotluschen.  Council representatives to the library board are Mary Westphalen and Brian Myers.

Contact Information:
(712) 928-2080

Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission meets as needed.

Zoning Officer: Phil Sweeney

Board members (five-year terms): 
Stan Jacobs (1/1/2021)
Judy Fanning (1/1/2021)
Mike Schwien (1/1/2022)
Gary Unrau (1/1/2023)
Kent Billings (1/1/2023)

Sherry Bootsma (1/1/2019) - Board of Supervisor Representative
Randy Menke (1/1/2020) - Rural Representative

Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment meets on an as needed basis. 

Board Members (five-year terms):
Howard Borchard (1/1/2024)
Keith Stoltz (1/1/2021)
Kirk Wescott (1/1/2021)
Glenda Norton (1/1/2021)
Denise Nurse (1/1/2022)

Mark Schulz (1/1/2020) - Board of Supervisor Representative
Don Brockman (1/1/2020) - Board of Supervisor Representative

Park and Recreation Board

The Park Commission meets on an as needed basis.

Members of the commission (three-year terms):
Tami Klein (12/31/2019)
Scarlet VanderBerg (12/31/2020)
Lashea Diehm (12/31/2021)
Matt Bush (12/31/2021)

S&H Sanitation Council Representative

Ron Hengeveld

The Community Agency Representative (6-year term)

Steve Leng (7/1/2021)

TCA Programming Representative (2-year term)

Ed Robinson (7/1/2020)

Northwest Iowa Regional Housing Trust Agency Representative (5-year term)

Sheri Tewes (12/31/2022)

Northwest Iowa Area Solid Waste Agency Representative (annual term)

 Ron Hengeveld - (2019) 
Jaron Benz - alternate (2019)