City Council/Mayor
Hartley City Council



City Council meets at 5:15 p.m. on the 2nd Monday of each month in the Council Chambers located at City Hall at 11 S Central Ave. The public is always welcome.


Mayor & Council Members

The city of Hartley operates under the Mayor-Council Form of government with five (5) council members elected at large.


 Mayor  Term Expiring 12/31/2019
Rod Ahrenstorff  Phone: 712-260-3189
 Mayor Pro-Tem  Term Expiring 12/31/2021
 Mary Westphalen  Phone: 712-260-0488
 Council Members  Term Expiring 12/31/2019
 Roxann Swanson  Phone: 712-363-2107


 Jerry Olson  Phone: 712-928-2371
 Council Members  Term Expiring 12/31/2021
 Ron Hengeveld  Phone: 712-928-3216
 Brian Myers  Phone: 712-240-3462

2018 Committees & Representatives


 Cemetery  Electric  Finance
 Hengeveld  Olson  Swanson
 Swanson  Myers  Myers
 Fire/EM/911  Gas  Housing
 Swanson  Hengeveld  Olson
 Myers  Olson  Westphalen
 Insurance  Library  Personnel
 Westphalen  Olson  Swanson
 Myers  Myers  Westphalen
 Sewer  Sidewalk  Solid Waste
 Westphalen  Olson  Hengeveld
 Swanson  Hengeveld  Swanson
 Storm Water  Street  Swimming Pool
 Hengeveld  Myers  Swanson
 Myers  Westphalen  Westphalen
 Telecom  Water  
 Olson  Hengeveld  
 Hengeveld  Swanson